It’s amazing what music can do. It can warm you like a familiar worn blanket. It can chill you to the bone. It can make you swear you have arms wrapped around you in comfort, yet at the same time, it can tear relentlessly through your heart, stinging your eyes with tears.

It’s silent and I am alone. I (ironically) have Silent Night (Sarah McLachlan) in my ears. What a beautiful voice she has.

I generally object to Xmas music before Thanksgiving, but Thanksgiving is tomorrow, so close enough I say. My favorite song is O Holy Night, but it’s not on this cd like I thought. I should head out for a new Christmas CD.

This song has a calming effect on me (despite my persistent headache). I have no ties to this music or this song. I guess if it reminds me of anything, it would have to be about 20+ years ago, at the Christmas Eve midnight mass/service at St Stephens Episcopal church. I was an acolyte, and practiced for weeks, but was too sick to participate. My parents couldn’t get a sitter, so I had to come to the service, tired and sick, laying in my parents lap with a fever, watching my friends lighting the candles in stead of me. I would have been jealous but was too sick to care. But I remember how I loved the music.

There really is no purpose to this post. I just had a need to talk about how I love the way music can take me away, almost anywhere I want to go, and even back to places I don’t. I don’t know where I would be without music to carry me through some of the worst and best times of my life. So for Thanksgiving, I guess I give thanks for this amazing gift.  

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment